Trauma Recovery Journals: March 28, 2022

March 28, 2022

I talked to my friend from an institution for like three hours the other night. It was a very hard conversation and a validating one. It was a conversation I needed. It really was as bad as I remember. After we spoke, there was so much adrenaline in my body that I was just shaking, trembling, and shivering. The same thing happened when I had to testify in court a few months ago.

PTSD is a sneaky, scary, confusing, complex thing. It seems impossible to understand or figure out. It feels like PTSD is always one step ahead of me and I just can’t get in front or ahead of it. I have also been struggling so much with relaxing. Like, if I’m not being productive in some way at all times, I don’t feel right. I get anxious, restless, and uncomfortable.

I also did not expect moving to be as hard as it was, but it was very hard for me. It makes sense, given the other eight times I moved were horribly traumatic, but I did it!

I am grateful for my new home, books, community, courage, strength, and hope!

I am beautiful!

I am smart!

I am strong!

To be honest, being vulnerable and putting my heart on the line by sharing my private journal entries publicly on heard + felt feels scary. It also feels like the next best thing for me to do is to pass along the gift I needed during my healing and to honor the progress I have made in my trauma recovery. If you’ve made it this far, thanks for reading! Remember to like + follow heard + felt for more!

xx

You may also like…

3 comments

  1. I know the shaking from too much adrenaline feeling you speak about. I don’t struggle with PTSD, but social anxiety has sidelined me more than once. Thank you for sharing your story. It helps to take away some of the stigma for those of us who deal with wounds that aren’t easily seen. Happy New Year, and God Bless.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment